Java

images

 

You are my morning jazz,

essence of an ancient tune.

Black cowry shells

sung from Kenyan soil,

jivin’ jitters

and skattin’ bones.

 

You are my morning jazz,

antidote to the deep dream blues.

Rhythmic brew

stressing the weak beat

of a drowsy syncopated tune.*

 

You are my morning jazz

notes of an emerging theme.

Lazy sway

as you slick my cup,

Beloved brew

you have sung me up.

 

 

*borrowed from “The Weary Blues”by Langston Hughes

© 2016, Ellen Rowland

Leave a Reply

